Home News Yogi Adityanath named as Uttar Pradesh CM

Yogi Adityanath named as Uttar Pradesh CM


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday named its senior party leader Yogi Adityanath as the next Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister.

He will take over as the 32nd state Chief Minister.

Adityanath, a five-time MP from the Gorakhpur constituency, was the youngest member of the 12th Lok Sabha at the age of 26.

Supporters of Adityanath were seen shouting ‘Yogi,Yogi’ outside Lok Bhawan in the state capital.

Adityanath had flown to New Delhi earlier this morning to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Currently, Adityanath serves as the Mahant of Guru Gorakhnath Temple in Gorakhpur, following the death of Mahanth Aavaidyanath on September 12, 2014.

The other contenders in the race were Uttar Pradesh BJP chief Keshav Prasad Maurya, Union Minister Manoj Sinha, BJP leader Shrikant Sharma and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

In Uttarakhand, senior Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Trivendra Singh Rawat took oath as the ninth Chief Minister of state. He was administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Krishna Kant Paul.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief Amit Shah, Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Jagat Prakash Nadda and Uma Bharti are among the several dignitaries who attended the swearing-in ceremony.

Prakash Pant, Madan Kaushik, Yashpal Arya, Subodh Uniyal and Rekha Arya are the other BJP MLAs who took oath as ministers with Rawat.

Ahead of his swearing-in ceremony, Rawat paid tributes at Shaheed Smarak here.

The former Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh(RSS) Pracharak, who succeed Congress leader Harish Rawat yesterday assured that he would provide a corruption-free government to Uttarakhand and would work for the upliftment of the poor.

A BJP loyalist, Rawat guided the saffron party to electoral victory in Jharkhand assembly elections in 2014.

In the recently-concluded assembly polls, the BJP won with a clear majority with 57 seats in the 70-member Uttarakhand Assembly, thereby ousting the Congress that managed to win just 11 seats this time.

Courtesy: ANI